Personalised Online TutoringTel:  (02) 8710 0441  |  0400 322 426

IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) Japanese

We cater to students studying Japanese as their Language Acquisition subject for the IB Middle Years Programme.

The IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) is a framework for a five-year programme aimed at students aged 11 to 16 years. It is taught in almost 100 countries worldwide and can be implemented in a concurrent partnership between schools, or in several abbreviated (two, three or four year) formats.

Upon completing the MYP, students are well-prepared for the rigorous study that is characteristic of further education and, in the final MYP year, can participate in MYP eAssessment. This is an optional component of the programme which features examinations and externally-evaluated course work, similar to that often required at the end of secondary school, and gives them the opportunity to earn a formal, internationally-recognised certificate.

The MYP Curriculum

The MYP helps students develop both subject-specific and interdisciplinary understanding. Its curriculum framework includes:

  • Approaches to learning (ATL), helping students learn how to learn by developing skills for research, critical and creative thinking, communication, collaboration, and self-management.
  • Key and related concepts, helping students explore big ideas that matter.
  • Global contexts, helping students understand the relevance and importance of their study for understanding their common humanity and shared guardianship of the planet.

The Middle Years Programme comprises eight subject groups:

  • Language and literature
  • Language acquisition
  • Individuals and societies
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Arts
  • Physical and health education
  • Design

At least 50 hours of teaching time is required for each subject group in each year of the programme. In years 4 and 5 however, students have the option to take courses from six of the eight subject groups within certain limits, to provide greater flexibility in meeting local requirements and individual student learning needs.

In each year of the MYP program, students also engage in at least one collaboratively planned interdisciplinary unit that involves at least two subject groups. This allows students to bring together concepts, methods, and forms of communication from two or more disciplines or established areas of expertise.

The MYP culminates in an independent long-term learning project. Students complete the work over an extended period of time, encouraging them to consolidate their learning and reflect on the outcomes of their work. Students who complete the MYP in Year 3 or Year 4 complete the community project. All students who complete the MYP in Year 5 complete the personal project.

Language Acquisition - Japanese

Language Acquisition is a compulsory component of the MYP in every year of the programme. Schools must provide sustained language learning in at least two languages for each year of the MYP.

At Kaneko Japanese Academy, we provide tuition to students studying Japanese as their Language Acquisition subject for the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP).

In this subject group, teaching and learning is organised into six phases, which correspond to three increasing proficiency levels of the target language:

  • Emergent (Phases 1 and 2)
  • Capable (Phases 3 and 4)
  • Proficient (Phases 5 and 6)

These phases do not necessarily correspond to particular age groups or MYP year levels, and students do not necessarily begin in phase one – they can begin at any phase, depending on their prior experiences, and may exit from any phase on the continuum.

Below is a link to the subject brief for Language Acquisition:

Assessment of Language Acquisition Subjects

The assessment criteria for the MYP Language Acquisition subject group are:

  • Criterion A - Comprehending spoken and visual text
  • Criterion B - Comprehending written and visual text
  • Criterion C - Communicating in response to spoken and/or written and/or visual text
  • Criterion D - Using language in spoken and/or written form

These four assessment criteria are equally weighted against each other, and each criterion is assessed using nine possible achievement levels (0 to 8), divided into four bands:

  • Band 1: Limited performance (1-2)
  • Band 2: Adequate performance (3-4)
  • Band 3: Substantial performance (5-6)
  • Band 4: Excellent performance (7-8)

The IB MYP eAssessment

eAssessment offers MYP students a rigorous and standardised assessment to motivate learning. It is perfect for parents and students who would like external verification of student achievement, and provides a global recognition of expertise, hard work and personal achievement. In addition, it helps students understand the demands of the Diploma Programme (DP) and allows them to use their results and grades as feedback on their learning and as guidance for future subject selection in the DP.

Once a school registers for eAssessment in the MYP, the IB will be able to assess students' work in Language Acquisition subjects through ePortfolios. These subjects are internally marked and externally moderated.

The IB MYP Certificate

The IB MYP certificate and the IB MYP bilingual certificate are available to students who complete the MYP course of study. These represent IB-validated recognition of students' achievements in the MYP and their preparation for future study. Candidates for the internationally-recognised IB MYP certificate must complete eight eAssessments, including an ePortfolio (coursework) in Language Acquisition, and also meet school requirements for participation in service as action.

Return to the IB Home Page

Back to Top